various animal parts and bodily fluids have found their way into numerous food items that are often mistaken as being plant-based. Don’t despair! This simple guide should minimize the need for extensive label reading the next time you’re out shopping for any of these products!

" /> various animal parts and bodily fluids have found their way into numerous food items that are often mistaken as being plant-based. Don't despair! This simple guide should minimize the need for extensive label reading the next time you're out shopping for any of these products!">
 
Welcome Green Monsters! We're your online guide to making conscious choices that help people, animals and the planet.
single

Guide: Vegan Options for Food Items Commonly Mistaken as Vegan

food items mistaken as vegan

The word ‘vegan’ doesn’t simply mean meatless, milk-free, or egg-free. Unfortunately, various animal parts and bodily fluids have found their way into numerous food items that are often mistaken as being plant-based. Don’t despair! This simple guide should minimize the need for extensive label reading the next time you’re out shopping for any of these products!

Food/Beverage Why it’s not vegan Vegan brands to try
1. Refined white and brown sugar White sugar is refined using animal bone char. Don’t let brown sugar dupe you either. Brown sugar is just white sugar with some molasses mixed back in to change the color, texture, and flavor. Florida Crystals Organic Sugar
Organic Turbinado Raw Cane Sugar
Rapadura Organic Whole Sugar
Hain Organic Cane Sugar
Bob’s Red Mill Date Sugar
Barry Farm Brown Rice Syrup
Maple Syrup
Agave Nectar
2. Bread Bread can contain milk and animal-derived shortening such as butter and lard. A quick glance at the ingredients label should help you identify the non-vegan breads. Ezekiel bread
Arnold Bread (many are vegan)
Vermont Bread (many vegan options)
Some French baguettes and pita breads
Garden of Eatin’ Bible Bread
Cobblestone Mill (many vegan breads)
Pepperidge Farm (some vegan breads)
3. Gummy bears Don’t be fooled by these colorful, stretchy candies. Cream gummies are obviously not vegan, but even fruit flavored gummy bears can contain gelatin. This means that they’re not even vegetarian! Gelatin is extracted from the boiled skin, bones, ligaments, tendons, hooves, and cartilage of animals. Organic Vegan Gummi Bears by Edward & Sons
Make your own vegan gummy worms!
4. Soy yogurt and cheeses Certain soy yogurt and cheese manufacturers waste the idea of using a plant-based milk for their yogurt or cheese by adding casein, a protein derived from cow’s milk to make their product more creamy. WholeSoy & Co. Soy Yogurt
Nogurt
For a list of vegan cheese brands see our article here.
5. Miso soup Many restaurants add dashi (fish) stock to their miso soup to enhance the flavor. All miso pastes are vegan so you can make your own miso soup. Boil seaweed such as laver, wakame, or dulse if you want your soup to have a fishy taste.
6. Non-dairy creamer Another quasi-plant-based milk product that misses the point. Contains sodium caseinate as an additive to keep the powder from clumping. Nature’s Flavors Organic Unflavored Non-Dairy Creamer
Rich’s Coffee Rich Non-Dairy Creamer
White Wave Silk Original Creamer
7. Worcestershire sauce You’d think this sauce is just a more flavorful version of soy sauce. It would have been vegan, if it didn’t contain anchovies! (fish). The Wizard’s Organic Original Vegan Worcestershire Sauce Annie’s Naturals Organic Vegan Worcestershire Sauce
8. Jello This jiggly dessert is actually made from gelatin. Substitute instead with Irish moss, carrageenan, and agar-agar for a cruelty-free and more nutritious dessert. Flavored Dessert Jels By Natural Desserts
Lieber’s Unflavored Gel
9. Beer What? Beer isn’t vegan? Unfortunately, some breweries clarify their beers using isinglass from fish bladder, and some beers may also contain gelatin, honey, animal albumin (egg albumin and dried blood powder) and casein. Luckily, you still have a relatively long list of vegan-friendly big brands and micro-brews to choose from. Anchor Brewing
Beck’s
Budweiser
Bud Light
Corona
Sapporo
Heineken
Dos Equis
Rolling Rock
Yuengling Brewery
Magic Hat
Sierra Nevada
Samuel Adams (except Cherry Wheat & Honey Porter)
Dogfish Head Brewing
MillerCoors Brewing
Peroni
Hoegaarden
Blue Moon (except the seasonal one’s with honey)
Chimay
Duvel
Check out the Barnivore Vegan Alcohol Directory for more brands.
10. Wine Most wines aren’t vegan either and use animal products such as gelatin, isinglass, chitosan, casein and egg albumen as finings. But you need not be deprived of wine’s antioxidant properties because there are still plenty of brands and varieties that are cruelty-free. So go ahead and become a vegan wine connoisseur! We recommend using the Barnivore Vegan Alcohol Directory, which has an extensive and often-updated list of vegan-friendly wines and wineries. Alternatively, you can search the Organic Wine Company listing vegan wines.
11. Honey May seem like a a bit obvious to some, but people tend to be surprised when they first hear about this. Honey comes from bees; bees are insects, and insects are animals. Still not convinced? Read this to understand why honey isn’t vegan. Not Honey Rice Nectar, Suzanne’s Specialties Just Like Honey Rice Nectar,
Agave Nector and Maple Syrup are also excellent alternatives to honey.
12. Gravy/ gravy mixes A lot of gravy mixes actually contain chicken fat in powdered form. Hain Vegetarian Brown Gravy Mix
The Organic Gourmet Vegetarian Brown Gravy Mix
13. Vegetable soups A lot of vegetable soups contain chicken, beef, and pork flavorings. Read the ingredient labels carefully! Amy’s Kitchen Healthy Valley Organic and Progresso have several vegan soups.
14. Fruit juice Some fruit juices contain shellac for extra color. Shellac is a secretion of the female lac bug. Carmine (made from dried, ground-up red beetles) is also used as food coloring in some juices. Yes, we’re not kidding; bugs in your juice! In addition, some juices are fortified with vitamin D3, which is derived from lanolin (also called wool wax or wool grease). Simply Nutritious
Welch
Sunsweet
Mott’s
Martinelli’s
15. Fake meats Certain faux meat products have dairy and egg whites listed in their ingredients (e.g. Morningstar Veggie Burgers). Check out our lists of vegan mock meats here and here.
16. Gum Some chewing gums unfortunately use gum bases made of gelatin or stearic acid, derived from animal sources. B-Fresh Vegan Chewing Gum
Epic Chewing Gum
Dylan & Delaney Natural Vegan Gumballs
Glee Gum

Did we miss any food items that are commonly mistaken as vegan? Let us know in the comments section below and help us build this list!

Image Source: Image 1, Image 2, Image 3

Browse through some recent posts below:

7 Smart Ways to Save Serious Dough on Organic Foods

7 Ways Smart Ways to Save Serious Dough on Organic Foods

How to Break Up with Vegan Junk Food (With Recipes)

How to Break Up with Vegan Junk Food (With Recipes)

10 Fun Ways to Mix Things Up with Vegan Condiments for Spring

10 Fun Ways to Mix Up Condiments for Your Spring Al Frecso Favorites

Here’s Why It Might Be Time to Kick Canned Foods

It Might Be Time to Kick Canned Foods

Disclosure: One Green Planet accepts advertising, sponsorship, affiliate links and other forms of compensation, which may or may not influence the advertising content, topics or articles written on this site. Click here for more information.

37 comments on “Guide: Vegan Options for Food Items Commonly Mistaken as Vegan”

Sign on with:
Click to add comment
Sidnee Love
1 Years Ago

Palm oil is not vegan. Not only are the habitats of orangutans destroyed but they are also murdered in the process, sometimes even being burned to death.


Reply
Elizabeth Siler
1 Years Ago

I wouldn't list Bud beers (and some of the others) as vegan! They are produced by Anheuser Busch --- which owns SeaWorld (think Shamu, captive whales, etc.). The product itself may be "vegan" but if you're buying it and drinking it, you're supporting some really nasty anti-animal efforts. Just saying!


Reply
Sarah@thesweetlife
1 Years Ago

Food coloring is often made with beetle juices (carmine). Additionally artificially flavored dyes are tested on animals


Reply
rebecca harvey
1 Years Ago

Could be a rumour or could be true, that coca cola use fish gelatin in fanta and some other fizzy coca cola drinks. It's worth avoiding.


Reply
Ananda
1 Years Ago

Many salad dressings are not vegan....and I'm not talking the obvious ones like blue cheese, ranch, etc -lecithin is a tricky substance because it can be derived from animal fat, eggs, or can come from soy....but the vegan form is usually listed as soy lecithin. Many "italian" and vinagarettes contain the animal derived form. Another one to watch our for is "lactic acids" whi


Reply
Katie
1 Years Ago

Glee Gum - as noted on the FAQ page "contains beeswax and resinous glaze and is therefore not vegan."


Reply
S Hochberg
2 Years Ago

L-cysteine (spelled also l-cystine or l-cystein) is used as a dough conditioner in baked goods. Dunkin Donuts puts it in their donuts, bagels and some other foods. It is listed in many "artisan" breads sold in supermarkets and in many sliced breads. Why isn't it vegan? L-cysteine is made from pulverized poultry feathers or human hair. I know, gross, right? Here's a link to Wikipedia on this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cysteine. Vegetarian Resource Group says: "Did you know that L-cysteine, a common dough conditioner, flavor enhancer in human and pet foods, and precursor in some dietary supplements, is most often derived from human hair or duck feathers, and to a lesser extent from pigs' bristles and hooves?" Hooves? Oh no! Read more here: http://www.vrg.org/nutshell/faqingredients.htm#cystine. So, now you know. Read labels!


Reply
Gaia
2 Years Ago

Glee Gum is NOT vegan. From their website: "Is Glee Gum vegetarian? Yes, Glee Gum is completely vegetarian and certified by the Vegetarian Society. But, because it contains beeswax and resinous glaze, it is not vegan."


Reply
Beth
2 Years Ago

caesar salad :(


Reply
Ally
2 Years Ago

"This means that they’re not even vegetarian! Gelatin is extracted from the boiled skin, bones, ligaments, tendons, hooves, and cartilage of animals." Vegetarians don't eat meat. Gelatin being extracted from the [items] of animals still doesn't make it meat.


Reply
Mama Jo
16 Jun 2011

I've never in my life met a vegetarian that would eat, use or purchase anything that came from a dead animal...that includes myself (former vegetarian...now vegan).

Russell
16 Jun 2011

Actually, vegetarians would also not eat gelatin since gelatin is animal flesh...a slaughter byproduct...albeit boiled down. The only difference between vegans and vegetarians are dairy, eggs, and honey. These are not dead animals (eggs are unfertilized, basically the product of a hen's menstrual cycle) or insects, although some animals may die during production. Vegetarians do not eat animals. Vegetarians do not eat gelatin.

Siobhan
16 Jun 2011

I thought not eating products that require the death of an animal was what being vegetarian was about, and gelatin comes from dead animals.



Subscribe to our Newsletter




Follow us on


Do Not Show This Again

×

Submit to OneGreenPlanet


Terms & Conditions ×