Gnocchi isn't really pasta -- it's made of potatoes, which is why I have omitted the traditional boiled potatoes from this recipe. The original recipe uses real pasta, adding pesto, potatoes, peas, and green beans to the glorious dish. I wasn't too keen on the whole double carb thing, and you don't really need it, either, as the gnocchi are really the star ingredient here. This is honestly hands-down one of the easiest dishes I have ever made. It's the perfect moreish weeknight dinner, when nothing but a bowlful of carbs and a creamy sauce will do. And since it contains vegetables, I deem it healthy... or healthy enough.

Gnocchi alla Genovese [Vegan]

$2.99
Save Trees. Print Less. But if you must, we charge $2.99 to encourage less waste

Calories

1038

Serves

2

Ingredients

  • 1 packet of gnocchi
  • 2 handfuls of frozen green beans
  • 2 handfuls of frozen peas
  • 2-3 tablespoons pesto
  • 1/2 cup soy cream (or non-dairy milk, if you can't find any cream)

Preparation

  1. Steam the green beans and peas over a pot of boiling water for 10 minutes.
  2. Pour the cream and pesto into a large pan to simmer.
  3. Add the gnocchi, stirring to cover them in creamy pesto sauce. Stir in the peas and beans, then serve while it's still hot.

Nutritional Information

Total Calories: 1038 | Total Carbs: 125 g | Total Fat: 51 g | Total Protein: 32 g | Total Sodium: 124 mg | Total Sugar: 8 g Note: The information shown is based on available ingredients and preparation. It should not be considered a substitute for a professional nutritionist’s advice.


Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. You could have mentioned that in order for this to be vegan, you also need to buy vegan pesto.
    Maybe this is something that other people know, but as one unfamiliar with Italian sauces, I assumed from this recipe that pesto must be vegan and did not look to carefully over the ingredients when buying it. I did so today,and I realized that the sauce I had been using contains two types of cheese, one of which (padano) also contains egg proteins somehow. Also, both of the cheeses (padano and pecorino romano) are made from animal rennet, making this sauce not even vegetarian! So in conclusion, no complaints about the recipe itself, and I\’m sure it will taste great with vegan pesto, but some clearer labeling of the ingredients would be appreciated!

Load More...