Welcome Green Monsters! We're your online guide to making conscious choices that help people, animals and the planet.
Download food monster: the biggest, baddest, yummiest vegan food app!
Buy the #EatForThePlanet book


Food Monster - Features

5 Creepy Animal Ingredients Hiding in Common Foods


Cutting out meat and dairy from your diet is pretty straightforward. But it can be more tricky to navigate animal ingredients that have strange names and even stranger sources. Here are five common creepy ones you might not notice in your food. Warning: Not suitable for vegetarians, vegans, or the squeamish!

1. Carmine: Squished bugs

Carmine is a pigment produced from the crushed bodies of insects, to give red-pink-purple hues. The insects are called cochineal so you’ll often see this ingredient simply labeled as ‘cochineal.’ Carmine can also be listed as cochineal extract, carmine, crimson lake, natural red 4, C.I. 75470 or E120.

The little critters are farmed until three months old, boiled alive, dried, crushed to a powder, and then processed into a dye which goes straight in the food or drink.

This additive can cause a serious allergic reaction in some people, even anaphylactic shock – as if you needed any other reason not to eat crushed bugs.

2. Isinglass: Fish bladders

It’s hard to believe that wine might not be free of animal ingredients. It’s just grapes, right? Wrong!

Isinglass is a type of gelatin prepared from the membranes in fish air bladders. It’s used to ‘fine’ wines – and many beers including Guinness – by removing sediment. Unfortunately, you can’t find out whether isinglass has been used simply by reading the label.

There are alternatives to isinglass that include bentonite (volcanic clay) and Irish moss.

3. Vitamin D3: Sheep grease

Vitamin D is essential for calcium absorption, and our bodies can manufacture plenty of it if we spend enough time in the sun. Not so easy in mid-winter! Luckily, many foods are fortified with this vitamin, but did you know there are two types?

Vitamin D2 is always vegan, and is made by plants. Vitamin D3 is made by all animals, including humans, when the skin is exposed to sunlight. As an additive, D3 is usually produced from lanolin – the grease on sheep’s wool. If the ingredients on a product simply list ‘vitamin D,’ it’s highly likely that this is the sheep-grease version.

4. Pepsin: Pig stomach enzyme

Pepsin is a slaughterhouse by-product, extracted from the glands of (dead) pig, sheep, and calf stomachs. It is used to curdle milk during the manufacture of cheese. It’s also used to process other types of proteins, including gelatin and soy protein, often to manufacture flavorings. Because it’s part of the manufacturing process instead of an ingredient, you won’t find pepsin listed on food packaging.

Historically, pepsin was an ingredient in Dr. Pepper soda, but an artificial alternative has now replaced it in the recipe.

5. Shellac: Insect secretions

Shellac is an animal product used to varnish foods. It’s most often found on candy and snacks like chocolate-covered nuts, to make them shiny and aesthetically appealing. The story behind the shine isn’t so pretty.

The Coccus lacca insect is farmed for the gummy substance it secretes through its pores. This hardens into a protective covering called lac which is crushed, washed, and dried to make the varnish called shellac. Approximately 300,000 lac insects are killed for every kilogram of lac resin, and 25 percent of all unrefined, harvested lac resin is composed of ‘insect debris.’

Image Source: John Tann/Flickr 

Want to read more posts like this? Sign up for our newsletter below!​

Browse through some recent posts below:

Founder’s Finds: 8 Vegan Protein Bars Tried in 2018

vegan protein bars to buy

15 Naturally Sweet Vegan Desserts … No Sugar Added

peanut butter cup ice cream cakes

Investigators Link Raw Milk Cheese To E.Coli Outbreak In France


The YES Bar Introduces Two New Vegan Varieties!

New vegan YES bar dark chocolate chip

Studies Show How A Plant-Based Diet Improves Diabetes Risks

Disclosure: One Green Planet accepts advertising, sponsorship, affiliate links and other forms of compensation, which may or may not influence the advertising content, topics or articles written on this site. Click here for more information.

0 comments on “5 Creepy Animal Ingredients Hiding in Common Foods”

Click to add comment

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Follow us on

Do Not Show This Again


Submit to OneGreenPlanet

Terms & Conditions ×