The plant-based soft gels are made from pea starch, carrageenan, sorbitol, and a gelling agent. They are 100% plant-based and comply with EU and US pharmaceutical and nutraceutical products requirements.
Roquette made it its mission to create a vegan-friendly soft gel alternative when it became more apparent that people were turning down certain medications. This is due to an estimated 70% of medications containing the animal ingredient, gelatine. Because gelatine is made from animal cartilage, bones, and other body parts, vegans try to avoid this ingredient – a task that can prove difficult when many medications come in a gelatin capsule.
Paul Smaltz, Head of Roquette’s Global Pharmaceutical business unit, said, “The launch of LYCAGEL marks a new era for soft gel formulations and manufacturing. Manufacturers no longer need to compromise on performance when launching a vegetable soft gel solution. Designed to be easily adaptable to existing gelatin processes, LYCAGEL can support businesses in bringing vegetarian alternatives to market quickly, without significant changes to existing operations.”
Though this may not be a new and exciting food product, this is an equally exciting addition to the vegan market. Hopefully, more companies will start to switch over to plant-based capsules instead of gelatine ones.
- Cut Out the Dairy and Gelatin With These 15 Vegan Candies
- Why You Shouldn’t Eat Gelatin
- 10 Gelatin-Free Gummies and Sweets!
- 10 Deliciously Fruity And Chewy Gelatin-Free Gummy Snacks!
For more Animal, Earth, Life, Vegan Food, Health, and Recipe content published daily. Subscribe to the One Green Planet Newsletter! Lastly, being publicly funded gives us a greater chance to continue providing you with high-quality content. Please consider supporting us by donating!