Welcome Green Monsters! We're your online guide to making conscious choices that help people, animals and the planet.
Download food monster: the biggest, baddest, yummiest vegan food app!
Buy the #EatForThePlanet book
single

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR Newsletter

Food Monster - Recipes

Baked Penne With Spicy Rose Sauce [Vegan]

LIKE OGP ON FACEBOOK :
2.1K Shares
If you enjoy recipes like this, we highly recommend downloading the Food Monster App, it's available for both Android and iPhone and has free and paid versions. The app is loaded with thousands of allergy-friendly & vegan recipes/cooking tips, has hundreds of search filters and features like bookmarking, meal plans and more! The app shows you how having diet/health/food preferences can be full of delicious abundance rather than restrictions!

This baked penne is the perfect pasta dish if you like a little spice. It’s a pretty versatile meal and if you make it in bulk, it can be changed up very easily just by using different sauces and toppings. This version has lots of fresh vegetables, a creamy sauce, and minimally processed ingredients. The sauce is a little spicy, which you can adjust to your preference, and can be made in a matter of minutes with a blender.

Vegan Baked Penne With Spicy Rose Sauce

Calories

732

Serves

4

Ingredients

For the Pasta:

  • 1 pound penne pasta
  • 2 cups baby spinach, chopped into thin strips
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced

For the Sauce:

  • 1 1/3 cups raw cashews
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk
  • 2/3 cups vegetable broth
  • 4 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 2 small tomatoes
  • 2 small jalapeños
  • 1/4 medium onion
  • 4 small garlic cloves, freshly crushed
  • 2 tablespoons cilantro
  • 1 small organic lemon, freshly juiced
  • 1/2 teaspoon pink Himalayan salt

For the Topping:

  • 1 cup gluten-free bread crumbs or panko for non-gluten-free

Preparation

  1. Prepare pasta according to package directions. Set aside.
  2. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  3. Dice the red peppers into small pieces and cut the spinach into thin strips. Set aside.
  4. Put all ingredients for the sauce (cashews, non-dairy milk, vegetable broth, tomato, jalapeño, onion, garlic, cilantro, lemon juice, nutritional yeast, and pink Himalayan salt) into a high-speed blender and blend until it’s smooth and creamy.
  5. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the pasta, sauce, spinach and red bell peppers and stir until well combined.
  6.  Put the mixture into a 9×13-inch glass baking dish and sprinkle bread crumbs over the top.
  7. Bake for approximately 10 minutes or until the topping is lightly browned.

Nutritional Information

Total Calories: 2928 | Total Carbs: 478 g | Total Fat: 73 g | Total Protein: 109 g | Total Sodium: 2697 g | Total Sugar: 45 g

Per Serving: Calories: 732 | Carbs: 120 g | Fat: 18 g | Protein: 27 g | Sodium: 674 mg | Sugar: 11 g

EXPLORE MORE RECIPES WITH THESE INGREDIENTS:


 

AUTHOR & RECIPE DETAILS


photo

Karielyn is a wife and mother of three. Her website “The Healthy Family and Home” features organic, healthy, clean eating and nutrient-dense foods, recipes and ingredients. No matter what diet plan you follow, Karielyn wants to help you make healthier food choices, read ingredient labels and learn about what's in the foods you eat. Eat like it matters…because it does!


 

 

Want to read more posts like this? Sign up for our newsletter below!​

Browse through similar recipes below:

Lasagna Bolognese [Vegan]

Lasagna Bolognese

Crispy and Smoky Pepperoni Made From Tofu [Vegan, Gluten-Free]

Tofu Pepperoni

Raw Lasagna With Mushroom Meat and Zucchini Cheese [Vegan, Gluten-Free]

Raw Mushroom Lasagna With Zucchini Cheese

Crispy Chickpea-Cauliflower Crust Pizza With Ricotta [Vegan, Gluten-Free, Grain-Free]


Disclosure: One Green Planet accepts advertising, sponsorship, affiliate links and other forms of compensation, which may or may not influence the advertising content, topics or articles written on this site. Click here for more information.

8 comments on “Baked Penne With Spicy Rose Sauce [Vegan]”

Click to add comment
Zoe
8 Months Ago

Really good for meal prepping dinners for the week. Although the serving size says four I\'d say it could stretch to eight! Had to bake for upwards of thirty minutes to thicken the sauce and soften the red pepper. Otherwise, great recipe and I will be using it again.


Reply
Brian
10 Months Ago

I made this and am eating it now. It\'s really creamy and flavorful. I doubled the recipe and improvised some. I added 2 cups more of spinach (wanted to use what I had) and used extra cilantro and added green onions to the sauce (more greens I had and didn\'t want to waste). My store-bought breadcrumbs didn\'t brown very noticeably so I cooked one pan for 15 minutes and the other for 25 which worked for me.

And of course it tasted amazing! My roommates were all impressed. Thanks for the recipe.


Reply
Melanie Eneboe
1 Years Ago

Sally Eneboe


Reply
Jason Smith
1 Years Ago

Tanya Smith


Reply
Suzanne Kolias
1 Years Ago

Must try!


Reply
Kungaa Joseph
1 Years Ago

going to try this this week.


Reply
Irene Sheppard
1 Years Ago

One of my families favorites!


Reply
Mikie Dewar
1 Years Ago

Terri Dewar Dance fancy this for tea?


Reply
Rijalul Ghoib
1 Years Ago

YES !!! I found the oficial link to Watch Movies for FREE without register.. __ http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/ __ Jack Reacher: Never Go Back http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/jack-reacher-never-go-back-343611.html Suicide Squad http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/suicide-squad-297761.html Don't Breathe http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/don-t-breathe-300669.html Bad Moms http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/bad-moms-376659.html SULLY http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/sully-363676.html When the Bough Breaks http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/when-the-bough-breaks-335791.html Sausage Party http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/sausage-party-223702.html Jason Bourne http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/jason-bourne-324668.html Morris from america http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/morris-from-america-352890.html Wonder Woman http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/wonder-woman-297762.html My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/my-big-fat-greek-wedding-2-302688.html Pete's Dragon http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/pete-s-dragon-294272.html The Secret Life of Pets http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/the-secret-life-of-pets-328111.html Ghostbusters http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/ghostbusters-43074.html The Jungle Book http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/the-jungle-book-278927.html The Conjuring 2 http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/the-conjuring-2-259693.html Finding Dory http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/finding-dory-127380.html Captain America: Civil War http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/captain-america-civil-war-271110.html X-Men: Apocalypse http://tandapengenal.sepion.site/streaming-film/x-men-apocalypse-246655.html


Reply
s
1 Years Ago

good


Reply


Subscribe to our Newsletter




Follow us on


Do Not Show This Again

×

Submit to OneGreenPlanet


Terms & Conditions ×
  GET FOOD MONSTER APPX