Welcome Green Monsters! We're your online guide to making conscious choices that help people, animals and the planet.
Download food monster: the biggest, baddest, yummiest vegan food app!
Buy the #EatForThePlanet book

15 Sneaky Foods That May be Hiding Animal Ingredients

Prev Slide1 of 13Next Slide

They are lurking in places you’d least expect. Just when you think you’re in the clear, sneaky animal ingredients like gelatin, bone char, casein, shellac and carmine find their way into foods where they have absolutely no business being.


Image Source: Moyan Brenn/Flickr

Bread can contain milk and animal-derived shortening such as butter and lard. A quick glance at the ingredients label should help you identify the sneaky bastards!


Image Source: Sam Bold/Flickr

Don’t be fooled by these colorful, stretchy candies. Cream gummies obviously contain milk, but even fruit-flavored gummy bears can contain gelatin. This means that they’re not even vegetarian! Gelatin is extracted from the boiled skin, bones, ligaments, tendons, hooves, and cartilage of animals. Yum? We think not.

Prev Slide1 of 13Next Slide

Disclosure: One Green Planet accepts advertising, sponsorship, affiliate links and other forms of compensation, which may or may not influence the advertising content, topics or articles written on this site. Click here for more information.

One comment on “15 Sneaky Foods That May be Hiding Animal Ingredients”

Click to add comment
1 Years Ago

Great!!! Now I can\'t eat anything :((((( Pls help. What CAN I eat?!?!!?

5 Years Ago

Great list! Would like to point out that there are vegan worcestershire sauces available (and even gluten free & vegan ones). You can usually find them at health food stores.


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Follow us on

Do Not Show This Again


Submit to OneGreenPlanet

Terms & Conditions ×