Welcome Green Monsters! We're your online guide to making conscious choices that help people, animals and the planet.
Download food monster: the biggest, baddest, yummiest vegan food app!
Buy the #EatForThePlanet book



Hidden Animal Ingredients in Medicine

Hidden Animal Ingredients in Medicine

A recent survey published in Postgraduate Medical Journal found that up to 25 percent of patients are unknowingly prescribed drugs containing gelatin, despite a strong preference not to consume animal products. This news is problematic for vegetarians, vegans and those who avoid animal products for religious or cultural reasons.

Animal-derived gelatin is a common coating agent and thickener in many medications, especially generic brands. Because this gelatin is typically part of inactive substances known as excipients, often it is not included in a drug’s ingredient list.

Compounding the problem, most patients who stated they would prefer not to consume animal products in the survey admitted they would not ask their doctor or pharmacist if their prescription contained animal-derived ingredients.

This study makes it clear that more comprehensive labeling requirements and practices (in addition to vegetarian drug alternatives) are needed to allow consumers to make informed decisions about prescription drug use.

Image Credit:  Kratka Photography/Flickr

Want to read more posts like this? Sign up for our newsletter below!​

Browse through some recent posts below:

Disclosure: One Green Planet accepts advertising, sponsorship, affiliate links and other forms of compensation, which may or may not influence the advertising content, topics or articles written on this site. Click here for more information.

0 comments on “Hidden Animal Ingredients in Medicine”

Click to add comment

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Follow us on

Do Not Show This Again


Submit to OneGreenPlanet

Terms & Conditions ×